Nas – It Was Written (1996)

Nas – “It Was Written” (1996) Album 20th Year Anniversary



[Listen/Stream/Download on iTunes] Nas – “It Was Written” (1996)

1. Album Intro
2. The Message
3. Street Dreams
4. I Gave You Power
5. Watch Dem Niggas
6. Take It in Blood
7. Nas Is Coming
8. Affirmative Action
9. The Set Up
10. Black Girl Lost
11. Suspect
12. Shootouts
13. Live Nigga Rap
14. If I Ruled the World (Imagine That)
15. Silent Murder

Released: July 2, 1996
Recorded: 1995–96
Genre: Hip hop music, Gangsta rap, East Coast hip hop, Hardcore hip hop, Mafioso rap
Length: 58:29
Label: Columbia Records
Producer(s) DJ Premier, Dr. Dre, Havoc, L.E.S., Live Squad,Trackmasters

1. “If I Ruled the World (Imagine That)”
Released: June 4, 1996
2. “Street Dreams”
Released: October 22, 1996
3. “The Message”
Released: February 3, 1997

It Was Written is the second studio album by American rapper Nas, released July 2, 1996 on Columbia Records in the United States. The album features mafioso and gangsta themes, and marks the first appearance of Nas’s short-lived supergroup The Firm, which included rappers Foxy Brown, AZ, and Cormega.It Was Written remains Nas’ best-selling release, with over 4 million copies in the United States alone.